Matthews one of eight finalists for AHCA College Division Coach of the Year

GLOUCESTER, Mass. - Saint Anselm College head women's hockey coach Kerstin Matthews was named one of eight finalists for the CCM American Hockey Coaches Association Women's Ice Hockey College Division Coach of the Year, as announced on Tuesday.

AHCA Release

Matthews, who was named the New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) Coach of the Year last month, led Saint Anselm to NEHC regular season and NEHC Open championships this year as part of a 22-2-3 season. The 20-win season was the third in the last four seasons for the Hawks and the fifth for the program in Matthews' nine seasons behind the bench. The regular-season conference title was the first for the Hawks since 2007-08 as Saint Anselm finished 15-1-1 in the NEHC.

For her career, Matthews boasts a 165-53-14 record in nine seasons on the Hilltop and her .741 winning percentage ranks among the highest in the nation across all three divisions of the NCAA. This season, her team finished the season on a 14-game unbeaten run (13-0-1), while ranking second nationally in scoring margin (+3.59 goals/game) and scoring offense (4.89 goals/game), fourth in winning percentage (.870) and sixth in scoring defense (1.30 GAA/game).

Other finalists for the award were Mark Bolding of Norwich University, Mike Carroll of Gustavus Adolphus College, Joe Cranston of UW-River Falls, Chad Davis of Adrian College, Kevin Houle of SUNY Plattsburgh, Emily McNamara of Hamilton College and Andy McPhee of Endicott College.

To be considered a finalist, one must either be named Coach of the Year at the conference level or advance to the national championship semifinals. The winner will be announced Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Adrian, Mich.

Stay up-to-date with the latest news, including game previews and recaps, directly from the Saint Anselm College athletic department by liking us on Facebook and following us on TwitterInstagram and Snapchat @STAHawks.