Department of Athletics holds annual Celebration of Athletic Excellence

Department of Athletics holds annual Celebration of Athletic Excellence


MANCHESTER, N.H. – The Saint Anselm College Department of Athletics recognized and celebrated the academic and athletic accomplishments of its student-athletes during the 2017-18 academic year on Wednesday evening with its annual Celebration of Athletic Excellence in the Dana Center.

Photo Gallery | Year-End Highlight Video | Ceremony Program

Among the awards handed out were the Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship Awards, the Hawks Soar Higher Student-Athletes of the Year and the Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

The Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship Award honors a male and female student-athlete who best exemplify and demonstrate the values of sportsmanship on and off the playing surface. Voted on by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and the department's head coaches, the 2017-18 recipients were seniors Clairee Putnam of the women's basketball team and Shane Earley of the football team.

(Pictured, from left to right: Shane Earley, Clairee Putnam, Director of Athletics Daron Montgomery)

The awards for Male and Female Hawks Soar Higher Student-Athletes of the Year are based on athletic accomplishments, conference and sport-specific awards and nominations, regional and national awards and nominations, as well as sportsmanship. Head coaches made nominations and voting was conducted among coaches and administrators.

Junior Tim Guers of the men's basketball team earned Male Hawks Soar Higher Student-Athlete of the Year honors following a standout junior season. After averaging 21.5 points, 7.4 rebounds and 5.5 assists per game, Guers was named an All-America selection by the Division II Bulletin and the National Association of Basketball Coaches in addition to being selected as the Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year.

Senior back Erin Collins of the field hockey team was honored as the Female Hawks Soar Higher Student-Athlete of the Year. Collins was the NE10 Defensive Player of the Year and went on to become the program's second two-time National Field Hockey Coaches Association All-America selection. The NFHCA and Synapse Sports First Team All-America choice was a key part of Division II's second-stingiest defense (1.00 GAA) this past fall.

(Pictured, from left to right: Erin Collins, Director of Athletics Daron Montgomery, Tim Guers)

The Senior Scholar-Athlete Awards are given to seniors who have demonstrated excellence in the classroom and on the playing field. Candidates must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30, have significant academic credentials, evidence of a solid athletic career and a community service component.

Men's ice hockey's senior goaltender Brenden Cain was awarded the Male Senior Scholar-Athlete accolade. A business and finance major, Cain was one of eight Saint Anselm students to be part of the College's Professional Development Initiative. On the ice, he was named the NE10 Championship MVP after stopping all 17 shots in relief as the Hawks rallied from 5-2 down in the third period to win their 10th NE10 title this winter.

Seniors Jess Perkins of women's tennis and Marta Versprille of women's lacrosse were the co-recipients of the Female Senior Scholar-Athlete award. Perkins, a nursing major, became the first women's tennis student-athlete at Saint Anselm to reach 100 match wins after going 15-2 at No. 1 singles. She has been named to the Dean's List and NE10 Commissioner's Honor Roll a combined 11 times. In addition to a career-best senior season, Versprille, a communication major, is a student leader for the College's Hope Happens Here chapter and was an Academic All-NE10 selection last spring. Versprille has set career highs in goals (26), assists (7), points (33), ground balls (36), draw controls (59) and caused turnovers (19) this spring.

(Pictured, from left to right: Jess Perkins, Brenden Cain - Not pictured: Marta Versprille)

Prior to the major award winners being announced, the department recognized its three-year and four-year award winners and presented them with gifts for their dedication to their sport. Saint Anselm's five All-America selections, eight All-Region choices and six major conference award winners were also honored, in addition to the 48 all-conference honorees.

For the second-straight year, the strength and conditioning department presented awards to one male and one female student-athlete for their efforts in the weight room. Junior Anthony Busconi of the men's lacrosse team and sophomore Shannon Colson of the softball team were this year's honorees.

(Pictured, from left to right: Interim Head Strength and Conditioning Coach Corey Barboza, Shannon Colson - Not pictured: Anthony Busconi)

The sports medicine department selected freshman Jen Peel of the women's basketball team as the recipient of its fourth-annual Golden Crutch Award. The light-hearted award is given to a student-athlete who believes their trainer's sole purpose is to treat them, counsel them or help them with their homework.

(Pictured, from left to right: Assistant Athletic Trainer Danny Gay, Jen Peel, Head Athletic Trainer Michael Sirois)

The 179 student-athletes to achieve a GPA of 3.0 or greater over the prior year's semesters were also recognized by Dean of the College Mark Cronin, PH.D., as were the 10 student-athletes to be inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma. Student-athletes with a cumulative GPA or 3.4 or higher become eligible for Chi Alpha Sigma induction in their junior year.

(Pictured, from left to right: Faculty Athletic Representative Dr. David Guerra, Timothy Stap, Maddie Scavotto, Felipe Bispo, Maddie Bressler, JJ Dunn, Eleni Petromelis, Director of Athletics Daron Montgomery, Emma Daly - Not pictured: Elise Bouchard, Helio Meirelles Neto, Madison Sarra)

The evening started with an invocation from Father John Fortin, O.S.B. '71, a welcome from Director of Athletics Daron Montgomery and opening remarks from President Steven R. DiSalvo, Ph.D. Head Field Hockey Coach Carolyn King-Robitaille, the recipient of USA Field Hockey's National Coach Award, provided the closing remarks.