Athletics hosts End of the Year Awards Presentation

Athletics hosts End of the Year Awards Presentation

MANCHESTER, N.H. – The Saint Anselm College Department of Athletics recognized and celebrated the academic and athletic accomplishments of its student-athletes during the 2018-19 academic year on Monday evening with its annual End of the Year Highlights & Awards Presentation in the Dana Center.

Among the awards handed out were the Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship Awards, the Hawks Soar Higher Student-Athletes of the Year and the Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

The Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship Award honors a male and female student-athlete who best exemplify and demonstrate the values of sportsmanship on and off the playing surface. Voted on by the department's head coaches, the 2018-19 recipients were seniors Xavier Quinn of the men's lacrosse team and Taylor Patterson of the women's lacrosse and women's soccer programs.

The awards for Male and Female Hawks Soar Higher Student-Athletes of the Year are based on athletic accomplishments, conference and sport-specific awards and nominations, regional and national awards and nominations, as well as sportsmanship. Head coaches made nominations and voting was conducted among coaches and administrators.

For the second consecutive year, Tim Guers was named the Male Student-Athlete of the Year. As a senior, Guers averaged 21.9 points, 7.5 rebounds and 5.5 assists across 31 games in 2018-19, earning Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year for the second time while propelling the men's basketball team to the 2019 NCAA Division II East Region Championship.

Named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2019 NCAA Division II East Regional, Guers went on to help the Hawks earn their first-ever victory in the Elite Eight, downing fifth-ranked Nova Southeastern in the First Round. He earned All-America honors from four organizations and departs the Hilltop ranked third all-time in team history in scoring average (min. 40 games) and is the program's all-time leader in points (2,327), field goals made (799), field goals attempted (1,727), minutes per game (36.0) and minutes played (4,388).

Shannon Ryan of the women's basketball team averaged a career-high 18.5 points and 12.0 rebounds per game, helping the Hawks earn their first-ever NCAA Division II East Region Championship in 2019. Ryan finished a dominant year ranked second in the country in double-doubles (23), third in rebounds (385), seventh in rebounds per game (12.0) and 10th field goals made (255).

During the season, Ryan became the institution's 11th student-athlete to reach the 700-rebound plateau and the first to reach that milestone in only two seasons. Her 385 total rebounds in 2018-19 were a single-season team record and her 592 points scored in 32 games is the second-most in a single campaign.

The Senior Scholar-Athlete Awards are given to seniors who have demonstrated excellence in the classroom and on the playing field. Candidates must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30, have significant academic credentials, evidence of a solid athletic career and a community service component.

JJ Dunn of the Saint Anselm baseball team was awarded the Male Senior Scholar-Athlete accolade. This past season, he was the only representative from Saint Anselm to earn "Academic Distinction" honors on the Northeast-10 Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll (4.0 GPA). The economics major owns a cumulative grade-point average of 3.965 and serves as a tutor for multiple student-athletes on campus.

Dunn entered this afternoon's game against Bentley with a 4.48 earned run average across 44 appearances on the mound, winning six of his 11 games as a junior. As a senior, the team captain has appeared in 12 games for the Hawks, leading the team in appearances and innings pitched. He fired a two-hit, seven inning game against Saint Michael's on Apr. 2, striking out 10 batters.

Goaltender Maddie Scavotto of the women's ice hockey team was this year's Female Senior Scholar-Athlete award recipient. A psychology major with a minor in Spanish, Scavotto owns a perfect 4.0 grade-point average and was the recipient of the prestigious Fr. Bernard Holmes, O.S.B. Scholarship. She serves the campus community as a tutor in the Academic Resource Center.

On the ice, Scavotto recorded a 1.21 goals-against average this past season, ranking second nationally among National Collegiate women's ice hockey backstops. She also finished with a 93.7% save percentage, ranking second nationally, and backstopped the Hawks to their first-ever NEWHA Championship title on Feb. 24, turning aside 21 shots in the win.

Earlier in the afternoon, the department held a Senior Student-Athlete Recognition Dinner in the New Hampshire Institute of Politics auditorium. In addition to the soon-to-be-graduates of Saint Anselm, the newest inductees into Chi Alpha Sigma, the national college athlete honor society, were recognized and honored. Nine new inductees were honored and the complete list of members reads as follows (BOLD signifies new inductees).

  • Dave Almeida, men's ice hockey
  • Nick Fiorillo, football
  • Nick Gorski, men's ice hockey
  • Jamie Gottwald, women's ice hockey
  • Breda Holland, women's lacrosse
  • Kiley Larocque, women's soccer
  • Kaleigh Scoville, softball
  • Meaghan Wilson, women's cross country
  • Felipe Bispo, men's soccer
  • Emma Daly, women's basketball
  • JJ Dunn, baseball
  • Eleni Petromelis, women's tennis
  • Madison Sarra, women's soccer
  • Maddie Scavotto, women's ice hockey
  • Timothy Stap, men's cross country

For the third-straight year, the strength and conditioning department presented awards to one male and one female student-athlete for their efforts in the weight room. Senior Sean Verrier of the men's ice hockey team and classmate Maggie Murphy of the softball program were this year's honorees.

The sports medicine department selected seniors Emmanuel Akinlosotu of the football team and Anna Drakeley of the field hockey team to receive its Perseverance Award.

Prior to closing remarks at the Highlights & Awards Presentation by Saint Anselm women's ice hockey Head Coach Kerstin Matthews, Director of Athletics Daron Montgomery acknowledged the 186 student-athletes that recorded a 3.0 grade-point average or higher. A complete list of those who achieved the feat can be found by clicking here.