Athletic Department Holds Annual Celebration of Athletic Excellence

Athletic Department Holds Annual Celebration of Athletic Excellence


MANCHESTER, N.H. – Student-athletes representing all 20 of Saint Anselm College’s intercollegiate sports were honored and celebrated at the 2015 Celebration of Athletic Excellence on Monday evening at the Dana Center. The evening’s festivities also honored six individuals that were the recipients of the Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship Award, the Anselmian Athletic Club Student-Athlete of the Year award and the Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Kasey Moran and Sean Jenkins

The Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year candidates are identified from pre-determined academic criteria – the student-athlete must have maintained a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher, alongside significant academic and athletic credentials, while also serving their community. The award, which was presented by Father Benet Philips, O.S.B., the College’s Registrar, was designed to honor and celebrate a male and female student-athlete who demonstrates a commitment to excellence both in the classroom and on the playing surface. The award is voted on by coaches, both college and athletic department administration and professors.

Senior outfielder Kasey Moran (Medford, Mass.) of the softball team was selected as the female Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year, with senior men’s ice hockey alternate captain Sean Jenkins (Boston, Mass.) taking home the honor on the male side.

The Anselmian Athletic Club Student-Athlete of the Year award, presented by Joseph Horton, Vice President for Student Affairs, was voted upon by coaches and both college and athletic department administration, with the results based upon athletic accomplishments, conference and sport-specific awards and nominations, regional and national awards and nominations along with the student-athlete’s demonstrations of sportsmanship throughout the season.

Anselmian Athletes of the Year Chris Santo
and Lindsey Brown

Senior goaltender Lindsey Brown (Mounds View, Minn.) of the women’s ice hockey team was the female winner, while men’s basketball senior forward Chris Santo (Cherry Hill, N.J.) was the men’s recipient.

The Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship award, presented at the ceremony by Associate Dean of Students, Drew Litz, honors both a male and female student, who best exemplifies and demonstrates the values of sportsmanship both on and off the playing surface. Student-athletes, the team’s coaches and athletic administrators vote for the recipients of this award. 

Senior goalie Jessica Snow (Shrewsbury, Mass.) of the field hockey team was the female recipient of the award, while senior baseball captain Mike Hayden (Cranston, R.I.) was selected as the male recipient of the award.

Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship Award
Jessica Snow and Mike Hayden

A new “honor” was also given out for the first time this year. Head athletic trainer Mike Sirois announced four nominees for the Golden Crutch Award, presented to a student-athlete that believes their athletic trainer’s only purpose is to treat them, counsel them or help them with their homework and visits the training room almost daily, mainly to socialize instead of getting treatment.

 Field hockey sophomore Kelsey Leblanc (Londonderry, N.H.) was the first-ever recipient of the light-hearted accolade.

Assistant Athletic Director/SWA Courtney McGrath recapped the Academic Awards Night, which was held March 23 and featured 18 student-athletes that were inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Student-Athlete Honor Society, as well as another 176 that were recognized for either attaining an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher, or achieving a 3.0 or higher in the Spring or Fall semesters of 2014.

Director of Athletic Communications Eric Coplin ran down the conference, regional and national award recipients, while Assistant Director of Athletic Communications Jay Messar recognized the three- and four-year award winners that received a gift from the department – three-year winners received a jacket, while four-year winners were given a watch.

Director of Athletics Jim Herlihy, who opened and closed the evening, handed out the gifts, while Kevin Gould, Vice Chairman of the Saint Anselm Board of Trustees, gave the remarks.

Female Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kasey Moran, softball
Male Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Sean Jenkins, men’s ice hockey
Female Anselmian Athletic Club Student-Athlete of the Year: Lindsey Brown, women’s ice hockey
Male Anselmian Athletic Club Student-Athlete of the Year: Chris Santo, men’s basketball
Female Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship: Jessica Snow, field hockey
Male Charles J. Quinn Sportsmanship: Mike Hayden, baseball
Golden Crutch Award: Kelsey Leblanc, field hockey

 Stay up-to-date with the latest news, including game previews and recaps, directly from the Saint Anselm College athletic department by liking us on Facebook and following us on Twitter @STAHawks.