Saint Anselm to host 2019 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Regional Championship

Saint Anselm to host 2019 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Regional Championship

MANCHESTER, N.H. – The nationally-ranked Saint Anselm College men's basketball team will host the eight-team East Regional of the 2019 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship starting on Saturday, Mar. 16. The Hawks will take on eighth-seeded Molloy (21-9) in the First Round of tournament play.

LINK: 2019 Division II Men's Basketball Championship Official Bracket 

Saint Anselm (22-5) was selected as the top seed in the East, earning the privilege to host the eight-team tournament in Stoutenburgh Gymnasium. The Hawks will make their seventh consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

Additional information regarding the East Regional, including ticket prices, game times and detailed game previews, will be announced in the coming days.

Other regional matchups include Merrimack (22-9), the second-seeded team, taking on Dominican (N.Y.) (23-7), the seventh-seed. New Haven (20-9), the fourth-seeded program, will face Daemen (24-5), the five seed, and Le Moyne (18-9) and Saint Thomas Aquinas (23-6) will play as the third and sixth seeds, respectively.

Guided by Keith Dickson, the 2019 Northeast-10 Conference Coach of the Year, the Hawks began the season with a program-record 10 consecutive victories. Saint Anselm will be making its 19th appearance in the NCAA Tournament under Dickson and the 23rd overall appearance for the program.

Saint Anselm was recently awarded its ninth conference regular season championship with an 18-3 mark versus league opponents and the Hawks also earned their highest-ever national ranking earlier in the season (No. 4). Senior Tim Guers (Langhorne, Pa.) was also named NE10 Player of the Year following the regular season.

The Hawks and Lions have met only once prior, a season-opening 102-79 victory for the Hawks on Nov. 14, 2015 on the campus of Saint Thomas Aquinas. Saint Anselm is in search of its second East Region title, having last advanced to the Elite Eight in the 1999-00 season.