Men's ice hockey hands out awards at year-end banquet

Men's ice hockey hands out awards at year-end banquet

MANCHESTER, N.H. – Following a Northeast-10 Conference championship-winning season, the Saint Anselm College men's ice hockey team handed out its year-end awards and named its captains for the 2018-19 season at its season-ending banquet on Apr. 15 at the New Hampshire Institute of Politics.

At the banquet, Saint Anselm, which won its 10th NE10 title by storming back from 5-2 down with less than 12 minutes remaining to defeat Saint Michael's 6-5 in overtime, recognized its NE10 award winners, handed out seven team awards and named its two captains for next season.

Five student-athletes received their plaques after being named to the NE10 All-Conference Teams, led by NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year Colin Soucy and Rookie of the Year Alec Andreucci. Mike Ferraro, Nick Gorski and Soucy were also recognized for being First Team All-NE10 choices.

The Hubie McDonough Most Valuable Player Award went to Ferraro following his standout sophomore season that saw him lead the team in goals (17) and points (28). Ferraro also tallied five game-winning goals, while ranking in the NE10's top three in goals and points.

Senior goaltender Brenden Cain collected the team's Academic Achievement Award after compiling the highest GPA on the team. Cain, who was also the MVP of the NE10 Championship, has been named to the Dean's List and NE10 Commissioner's Honor Roll in all seven of his semesters on the Hilltop as a business and finance major.

The Tom Bullock '74 Most Dedicated Player Award was given to sophomore forward Trey Aiello for his commitment to getting better each day and for going above and beyond to improve all aspects of the program. In 27 games, Aiello totaled 10 points on two goals and eight assists for the Hawks.

Junior defenseman Kevin Curley was named the Rev. Lawrence E. Wetterholm '52 Seventh Player Award recipient. The award recognized the player who provided leadership, perseverance and an unwavering will to succeed while representing the program in a quiet, unassuming manner. In his first season on the team, Curley provided three goals and six assists in 24 games from the blue line, including a goal and two assists in the NE10 title game.

The Frank Harrington Coaches' Award was presented to co-captains Nick Gorski and Jon Pallotta for their determination, character and ability to make those around them better, while representing the program with class and dignity. Gorski and Pallotta helped lead a team that was 5-7-1 on Jan. 6 to a 17-9-1 final record that included eight-straight wins to end the season.

Andreucci earned the team's Rookie of the Year Award in addition to his NE10 Rookie of the Year accolade. The sixth NE10 Rookie of the Year in program history, Andreucci's 27 points (nine goals, 18 assists) were the highest total for a Saint Anselm rookie since 2011-12 and were more than twice as many as any other NE10 rookie.

The team's Most Improved Player Award was given to sophomore defenseman Liam O'Sullivan who, after playing in just one game as a freshman, recorded three goals and four assists in 26 games for Saint Anselm as a regular on the blue line.

After each of the team's five seniors addressed their teammates about their experiences over the last four years, the team announced that Joey Harrington and Jeremy Carignan would be the team's captains for the 2018-19 season. Harrington has played in 56 games for Saint Anselm over his three seasons, while Carignan has totaled 45 points (18 goals and 27 assists) in 69 games through his junior season.