SECOND EDITION: Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team - Jan. 3, 2019

SECOND EDITION: Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team - Jan. 3, 2019

PICTURED ABOVE, FROM LEFT TO RIGHT: Dave Gavin '83, Hubie McDonough '86, William Penniman '79, Brian Dobler '07, Greg Merrill '14, Shane Joyce '18

MANCHESTER, N.H. – The 2018-19 season marks the 50th for the Saint Anselm College men's ice hockey program. In recognition of those greats who helped make the program what it is today, the Department of Athletics is pleased to announce a "Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team." The selections will be released in four installments throughout the 2018-19 men's ice hockey season, recognizing Hawks student-athletes from years past for their athletic success.

The list will be comprised of 22 individuals and revealed in no particular order:

  • Nine forwards
  • Six defensemen
  • Three goaltenders
  • Two head coaches
  • Two at-large selections

The next edition of the "Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team" will be released at the end of January.

To view the first edition of the "Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team", click here.

F – Dave Gavin – 1979-83

Gavin played in every game of his career (98 games) and was a two-time captain, leading the team in both his junior and senior years. As a junior, Gavin was the team leader in total points with 16 goals and 39 assists for 55 points (16-39=55) in only 20 games.

Again in his senior year, Gavin was the team's leading scorer with 18 goals and 43 assists for 59 points (18-43=59), ranking among the highest in a season at Saint Anselm. He completed his career with a total of 56 goals and 112 assists for 168 points (56-112=168).

F – Hubie McDonough – 1982-86

McDonough played at Saint Anselm from 1982-86 where he logged 124 career goals and 86 assists in 104 games. He is the program's all-time points leader (210) and his 124 goals is also atop the school's scoring charts. He holds the top two single-season goal scoring marks with 41 (1984-85) and 37 (1983-84) and his number three jersey was the first to be retired by any sports team on the Hilltop. He earned All-America distinction and was the small college Hobey Baker Award winner in 1985.

His 71 points in the 1984-85 campaign (41 goals, 30 assists) is the highest single season output in program history as well. He also holds the school's single game scoring record with five markers in a game against Westfield State on Dec. 12, 1983. McDonough went on to play 20 seasons of professional hockey, including six seasons in the National Hockey League. 

F – William Penniman – 1975-79

Penniman, a four-year member of the Hawks men's ice hockey team, ranks ninth all-time in point scoring. He appeared in 92 games over the course of his career, playing every position with the exception of goaltender. He ranks sixth all-time with 86 assists and his 31 assists in 1978-79 stands as the eighth-most in a single campaign. He graduated as the institution's fifth leading scorer in 1979.

As a freshman, Penniman posted three goals and an assist (3-1=4) against Babson and served as the power play pilot as a sophomore. Head Coach Alan Davis explained that Penniman was "clever, fast and shifty" and was the squad's "steadiest performer when it came to scoring." He earned his team's Most Valuable Player award in 1977.

D – Brian Dobler – 2003-07

Dobler was a four-year member of the Saint Anselm men's ice hockey program, making 104 appearances while scoring 21 goals and 43 assists for 64 points (21-43=64) on defense. He helped Saint Anselm to two Northeast-10 Championships, winning in 2003-04 and 2006-07. His 25-point season (9-16=25) as a sophomore stands as the seventh-best scoring season by an NE10 defenseman.

The first two-time First Team All-NE10 selection in program history, Dobler added Second Team All-Conference honors from the NE10 as a junior and was also recognized by the ECAC East as an All-League pick that same season. He scored a goal and added two assists in his team's NE10 Championship victory against Southern New Hampshire to cap the 2004-05 season.

D – Greg Merrill – 2011-14

A two-time Northeast-10 Defender of the Year at Saint Anselm, Merrill wrapped up a three-year career at Saint Anselm by becoming only the second student-athlete in program history to earn three First Team All-Conference selections. He finished his career with 15 goals and 39 assists for 54 points (15-39=54) as a defenseman, scoring nine power play goals and three game-winning goals.

An All-Rookie Team pick by the NE10 in 2011-12, Merrill was named to the All-Tournament team for the 2012-13 NE10 Championship, won by Saint Anselm by a 5-2 score over Franklin Pierce – he had what proved to be the game-winning goal in the second period of that contest. He guided the Hawks to two NE10 championships (2011-12, 2012-13) in his career.

G – Shane Joyce – 2014-18

Joyce, a four-year member of the Hawks men's ice hockey team, posted a .909 save percentage and a 2.38 goals-against average across 80 games in net. The program's all-time leader in career save percentage and goals-against average (min. 1,000 minutes), Joyce helped Saint Anselm to two Northeast-10 Championships and made 30 saves in the title game victory in 2014-15.

The 12-time NE10 Goalie of the Week selection was named the conference's Goaltender of the Year in 2015-16. He earned All-Conference honors from the NE10 on three occasions and was an All-Rookie Team pick as a freshman in 2014-15. His 2.00 goals-against average as a junior and his 2.38 career goals-against average stand as all-time season and career NE10 records, respectively.