FINAL EDITION: Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team - Mar. 1, 2019

FINAL EDITION: Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team - Mar. 1, 2019

PICTURED ABOVE, FROM LEFT TO RIGHT: Tom Birmingham '76, Frank Harrington, Ed Seney, Tucker Mullin '13

MANCHESTER, N.H. – The 2018-19 season marks the 50th for the Saint Anselm College men's ice hockey program. In recognition of those greats who helped make the program what it is today, the Department of Athletics is pleased to announce a "Hilltop Hockey All-Time Team." The selections will be released in four installments throughout the 2018-19 men's ice hockey season, recognizing Hawks student-athletes from years past for their athletic success.

The list is comprised of 22 individuals and revealed in no particular order:

  • Nine forwards
  • Six defensemen
  • Three goaltenders
  • Two head coaches
  • Two at-large selections


At-Large Team – Tucker Mullin – 2009-13

A two-time team captain, Mullin was a four-year member of the Hawks who registered at least 23 points in each of his four seasons on the Hilltop. He became a member of the exclusive 100 career point club as a senior in 2013 and helped the Hawks to four-straight Northeast-10 Conference championships during his illustrious career.

Off the ice, Mullin was the recipient of the prestigious BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award Recipient, awarded annually to a college hockey player that gives back to their communities in the true humanitarian spirit. He co-founded the Thomas E. Smith Fight to Cute Paralysis foundation, developed the "Massachusetts Cure Paralysis" license plate and served as a student ambassador for Team IMPACT, an organization that Hawks sports teams still partner with to this day.

At-Large Team – Tom Birmingham – 1972-76, 1979-85

A member of the Saint Anselm Athletics Hall of Fame, Birmingham was a standout student-athlete for the Hawks in the 1970's and would later become the first alumni to serve as the team's Head Coach from 1979 through 1985. A team captain in 1975-76, Birmingham recorded 108 points in a Saint Anselm uniform across 91 games.

During his senior season, Birmingham posted 28 assists en route to a 41-point season that spanned only 22 games. Posting a 53-39-1 record as a student-athlete, he carried his winning tradition to behind the Hawks bench. He guided the team to two ECAC Division II Tournament appearances, the first of which came in 1983, and won at least 12 games in his final four seasons as coach.

Head Coach – Ed Seney – 2002-2017

In 15 seasons on the Hilltop, Seney led the Hawks to a record of 202-162-36 (.550), including a 73-16-5 (.803) mark against Northeast-10 Conference opponents. His teams won eight NE10 regular-season titles, including seven in a row from 2003-04 to 2009-10, and seven NE10 tournament championships. Seney was named the NE10 Coach of the Year four times at Saint Anselm.

Over his 29 seasons as a head coach, he won 371 games which ranks him in the top-20 all-time among NCAA Division II and III head coaches. He also coached numerous major award winners, including two NE10 Players of the Year, eight NE10 Goaltenders of the Year, four NE10 Rookies of the Year and seven NE10 Defensive Players of the Year.

Head Coach – Frank Harrington – 1968-73

Harrington, the first coach of the Saint Anselm varsity men's ice hockey program, successfully persuaded the administration to reintroduce ice hockey to the College. Successfully and carefully rebuilding the foundation of the modern-day team we know today, 

Starting out with only three victories in 1969-70, he increased the team's win totals in each of his four seasons at the helm. The 1972-73 season, in which the team made it's first-ever ECAC Division II Tournament appearance, saw 16 total victories (including eight straight wins), a single-season record that stood until 1997.


  • Forward – Michael Bianculli – 1993-94, 1995-98: Bianculli recorded 124 career points, scoring 53 goals and 71 assists (53-71=124) and earned ECAC Rookie of the Year honors as a freshman, tallying 11 goals and 22 assists (11-22=33). 20 of his 53 career goals came on the power play and he was later named Most Valuable Player of the Manchester Police Athletic Association Cup in 1996.
  • Forward – Stephen Daigle – 1971-75: Daigle was inducted into the Saint Anselm Athletics Hall of Fame in 1990, recognizing his outstanding career where he scored 17 goals and 79 assists for 96 points (17-79=96) in 86 games. He potted at least 15 assists in each of his four seasons on the Hilltop, including 23 as a senior.
  • Forward – Jeff Jarvis – 1996-99, 2000-01: Jarvis recorded more than one point per game across a 99-game career on the Hilltop, scoring 54 goals and tallying 65 assists for 119 points (54-65=119). As a senior, he helped the Hawks to its second ECAC Division II Championship, handing Southern New Hampshire a convincing 8-2 defeat.
  • Forward – Ed King – 1972-76: King, inducted to the Saint Anselm Athletics Hall of Fame in 2003, appeared in 77 games for the Hawks, scoring 44 goals and as many assists for 88 career points (44-44=88). He helped the team to it's first-ever ECAC Division II postseason contest as a freshman.
  • Forward – Tim King – 2009-13: A recent addition to the 100-point club at Saint Anselm, King scored 36 goals alongside 71 assists for 107 points (36-71=107) across a 104-game career. A two-time Northeast-10 All-Conference selection, King earned All-Rookie merits as a freshman, scoring a career-high 12 goals in 2009-10.
  • Forward – John Lindberg – 1970-74: Lindberg was a two-time team captain who posted 149 points via 76 goals and 73 assists (76-73=149) in his lengthy career on the Hilltop. Inducted into the Saint Anselm Athletics Hall of Fame in 1988, he propelled the fledgling ice hockey team to 51 victories during his tenure.
  • Forward – Joe O'Brien – 1970-74: O'Brien, a two-time captain, is sixth all-time in team history with 156 career points and 103 assists. To this day, the Saint Anselm Athletics Hall of Famer owns the freshman single-season scoring record after posting 65 points (25-40=65) in 1970-71.
  • Forward – John Powers – 1972-76: Powers, a member of the Saint Anselm Athletics Hall of Fame, appeared in 91 games across his tenure at the College, scoring 42 goals and 71 assists for 113 (42-71=113) points. As a senior, he scored 19 goals and 21 assists for 40 points (19-21=40) and helped the Hawks to 53 wins in four seasons.
  • Defenseman – Bob Ferraris – 1993-97: A mainstay on the Hawks defense from 1993 to 1997, Ferraris appeared in 90 games for the Hawks, tallying eight goals and 42 assists for 50 points (8-42=50). He was selected to consecutive Manchester Police Athletic League Cup All-Tournament Teams and was his team's Most Valuable Defensive Player as a senior.
  • Goaltender – John Herrick – 1993-97: Herrick helped the Hawks to two ECAC Division II Tournament appearances during his career, logging over 3,600 minutes in goal while recording just three saves shy of 1,500 across four seasons. He won 15 out of his 25 appearances as a freshman in 1993-94, making 544 saves on the year.
  • Head Coach – Ken Kuzyk – 1985-2002: The longest tenured coach in Saint Anselm history, Kuzyk won 161 games during his career and guided the Hawks to two ECAC Division II Tournament titles. He was named New England Division II-III Coach of the Year in 1994.