Murray, Gowen named All-MacConnell Division

Murray, Gowen named All-MacConnell Division

MANCHESTER, N.H.Alex Gowen and Jill Murray of the Saint Anselm College skiing team were named to the United States Collegiate Ski and Snowboard Association (USCSA) Eastern Collegiate Ski Conference (ECSC) All-MacConnell Division Team, while the men's and women's teams swept the division's Team Sportsmanship Awards, as announced on Thursday.

Men's Release | Women's Release

Gowen and Murray each earned USCSA ECSC All-MacConnell Division Team honors by posting top-15 regular season rankings in the division. The honor was the second in a row for Murray, while Gowen earned the accolade for the first time.

Gowen finished 15th in the MacConnell Division after finishing no worse than 23rd in any race this season for the Hawks. He twice finished in the top 10, both coming at Whiteface Mountain, where he placed ninth and sixth on Jan. 27-28. Gowen's performances helped Saint Anselm qualify for this weekend's USCSA Eastern Regional Championships after the Hawks leapfrogged UMass by a single point for fifth in the MacConnell Division last weekend.

Murray also placed 15th in the MacConnell Division thanks to eight top-20 performances over the course of the season. The senior posted a season-best seventh-place finish in the giant slalom at Crotched Mountain on Feb. 5 and placed ninth in the giant slalom at West Mountain on Jan. 21. Murray helped the Hawks to sixth place in the MacConnell Division team standings but will ski at regionals for the third-straight year as the top finisher whose team did not qualify for the event.

Saint Anselm captured the men's and women's ECSC MacConnell Division Team Sportsmanship Awards, while Alex Conrad and Taylor Cudhea represented the Hawks on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

The USCSA Eastern Regional Championship will be held on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 18-19 at West Mountain in Queensbury, N.Y.

Stay up-to-date with the latest news, including game previews and recaps, directly from the Saint Anselm College athletic department by liking us on Facebook and following us on TwitterInstagram and Snapchat @STAHawks.