Findley, Butler tabbed New England Hockey Writers All-Stars

Findley, Butler tabbed New England Hockey Writers All-Stars

BOSTON, Mass. – Senior defenseman Martha Findley and senior forward Alison Butler of the Saint Anselm College women's hockey team were both selected to the New England Hockey Writers Division II-III All-Star Team, as announced on Friday afternoon.

Findley collected the accolade for the second-straight season to become Saint Anselm's second two-time New England Hockey Writers All-Star, while Butler did so for the first time. The recognition for Findley and Butler made Saint Anselm one of four programs with multiple honorees, along with Amherst (2), Norwich (2) and Middlebury (3), and give the Hawks 10 selections in the last six seasons.

Findley added the honor to her second-straight First Team All-New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) selection. She tallied a career-high 30 points on seven goals and 23 assists to rank second in the NEHC and fourth nationally among defensemen in scoring. Findley's 23 assists ranked third in the NEHC and her 0.85 assists per game average was 14th in the country. She finished her career with the most assists by a defenseman in program history (57), a figure that ranks sixth all-time at Saint Anselm overall.

For Butler, the accolade came in addition to CCM East Region Second Team All-American and First Team All-NEHC honors following an 11-goal, 28-assist senior season. The senior's 39 points tied for the NEHC lead and rank fifth in single-season program history, while her average of 1.44 points per game was the ninth-highest in the country. Butler's 28 assists set a new program record, led the NEHC and she sat fifth nationally in assists per game (1.04). On Feb. 18, she became the seventh player in program history to join the 100-point club.

Saint Anselm won the NEHC regular season title and went on to claim its seventh NEHC Open championship with a 3-2 overtime victory over the College of the Holy Cross on Feb. 26. The Hawks posted a 22-2-3 record in 2016-17 and the 22 wins were the fourth-most in program history.

Women's Division II-III All-Stars
Julia Aberg, Johnson and Wales University
Shannon O'Neil, Franklin Pierce University
Kerri St. Denis, Bowdoin College
Martha Findley, Saint Anselm College
Caitlyn Ryan, Amherst College
Kim Tiberi, Norwich University
Carly Watson, Middlebury College
Alison Butler, Saint Anselm College
Sarah Schwenzfeier, Norwich University
Alex Toupal, Amherst College
Kara Violette, College of the Holy Cross
Maddie Winslow, Middlebury College
Jessica Young, Middlebury College
Women's Division II-III MVP
Kim Tiberi, Norwich University
Women's Division II-III Coach of the Year
Andy McPhee, Endicott College

The honorees will be recognized at the annual New England Hockey Writers Banquet on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The reception will begin at 6 p.m., followed by an awards ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Cost for the end-of-year celebration is $40 and is payable at the door. Please RSVP by Friday, April 7 to Geoff Dion at the Hockey East Office via or by phone at (781) 245-2122.

Stay up-to-date with the latest news, including game previews and recaps, directly from the Saint Anselm College athletic department by liking us on Facebook and following us on TwitterInstagram and Snapchat @STAHawks.