Women's lacrosse picked ninth in NE10 Preseason Coaches' Poll

Women's lacrosse picked ninth in NE10 Preseason Coaches' Poll

MANSFIELD, Mass. – After a return to the Northeast-10 Conference postseason in 2018, the Saint Anselm College women's lacrosse team was picked by the coaches of the NE10 Conference to finish ninth as the NE10 Preseason Coaches' Poll was announced Monday.

LINK: NE10 Release

Under the guidance of fourth-year head coach Meghan Smith '12, the Hawks posted an 8-10 overall record in 2018, while having a 6-7 ledger against NE10 opponents. Saint Anselm reached the postseason for the first time since 2015, falling to eventual Division II National Champion Le Moyne in the conference quarterfinals matchup.

The Dolphins were tabbed to win the league this season with 167 total points and 11 first-place votes, followed by Adelphi which had 159 points. Merrimack followed up with 133 points, just ahead of the Chargers from New Haven, who had 131 points. Pace, Assumption, Bentley, and Stonehill rounded-out the top eight teams in the poll ahead of the Hawks. 

Southern New Hampshire was selected to finish 10th ahead of Franklin Pierce and Southern Connecticut State. Saint Michael's and American International rounded out the poll.

Saint Anselm's schedule will include 17 games during the regular season and will play six games at Grappone Stadium. The NE10 schedule includes both Adelphi and Le Moyne, who both reached the 2018 Division II Lacrosse Championship.

The Hawks return two key components to their offense in senior Molly Beck (Old Saybrook, Conn.) and junior Breda Holland (Londonderry, N.H.). Beck finished with 44 points in her junior year with 38 goals. She also won 76 draw controls. Holland had 26 goals and eight assists for 34 points. Beck also controlled the midfield, causing 24 turnovers on the defensive side. Junior Lauren Lockard (Sanibel Island, Fla.) forced 18 turnovers on the defensive end of the field in 2018.

Saint Anselm will begin its 2019 season at home against nationally-ranked Mercy on Saturday, Feb. 23 at 11 a.m. at Grappone Stadium.